Course Help & Tutoring

Statistical Education Center

Bayes TheoryThe Statistical Education Center is Duke's primary education resource for the nearly 1000 students who take statistics courses each year. Here teaching assistants for each course hold a minimum of two hours of office hours per week. During office hours students can ask questions on material from their courses. 

SPRING 2019 OFFICE HOURS SCHEDULE

Note that some office hours are scheduled in Old Chem 203B and others in Old Chem 025.

Students seeking help should plan on attending office hours when a TA assigned to their course is scheduled to be there. Students taking courses with multiple lab/discussion/lecture sections can seek help from any TA assigned to that course number.

If you are regularly unable to make it to office hours during your TA's office hours due to other commitments, you should discuss this matter with your TA and professor who can suggest other resources for you.

Private Tutoring

Undergraduate + some GraduateThe following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Undergraduate Studies

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Bryan, Jordan PH.D. Undergraduate jordan.bryan@duke.edu
Bu, Fan Ph.D. Any course below 340,  611 and 621 fan.bu1@duke.edu
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Ferrari, Federico Ph.D. 400 or lower except 340 federico.ferrari@duke.edu
Guo, Yi Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate yi.guo1@duke.edu
Lavine, Isaac Ph.D. Undergraduate + Graduate isaac.lavine@duke.edu
Liang, Li M.S. in Econ 130, 230, 250, 611 happykeykey@gmail.com
Moran, Kelly Ph.D. Undergraduate + Graduate kelly.r.moran@duke.edu
Orlandi, Vittorio Ph.D. Undergraduate (except 320-322, 340) vittorio.orlandi@duke.edu
Tang, Jiurui Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate jiurui.tang@duke.edu
Tesha, Revo UGrad STA 250 revogatus.tesha@duke.edu
Zimmer, Erik UGrad Undergraduate (101, 199, 210, 230, and 323) erik.zimmer@duke.edu

Ph.D.The following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Graduate Studies

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Bu, Fan Ph.D. Undergraduate + 611, 621 fan.bu1@duke.edu
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Coronado, Eduardo MS Undergraduate Courses e.coronado@duke.edu
Ferrari, Federico Ph.D. Undergraduate Courses federico.ferrari@duke.edu
Guo, Yi Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate yuo.gi@duke.edu
Lavine, Isaac Ph.D. Undergraduate + Graduate isaac.lavine@duke.edu
Moran, Kelly Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kelly.r.moran@duke.edu
Tang, Jiurui Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate jiurui.tang@duke.edu