International Recognition

In 2022, the U.S. News and World Report ranked our department as the seventh-best graduate program in statistics.

In the most recent set of rankings compiled by the National Research Council from 2010, our department was ranked among the top ten statistics and probability programs in the Research category and eleventh in the reputation survey.

Our current faculty members have received national awards and recognitions reflecting their contributions to statistical science and, by implication, the Department’s national standing. Examples of awards include the

  • Akaike Memorial Award
  • American Statistical Association Founder’s Award
  • Bruno de Finetti Lecture
  • C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize
  • Clifford Clogg Memorial Lectures
  • Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies (COPSS) Presidents’ Award
  • Deming Lecturer Award
  • Early Career Award in Applied Mathematics
  • Gertrude M. Cox Award
  • George W. Snedecor Award
  • International Mathematical Society Medallion Lectures Award
  • International Society of Bayesian Analysis Zellner Medal
  • Janet L. Norwood Award
  • Links Lecture Award
  • Mitchell Prize
  • Mortimer Spiegelman Award
  • R. A. Fisher Award
  • Robert V. Hogg Award for Excellence in Teaching Introductory Statistics
  • Roger Herriott Award
  • Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award
  • W. J. Youden Award in Interlaboratory Testing
  • Waller Education Award
  • Young Researcher Award of the International Indian Statistical Association.

Additionally, our faculty members have received numerous best paper awards, and have been keynote and honorary speakers at national and international conferences and workshops. Many of our faculty very have received highly prestigious NSF CAREER awards.