Course Help & Tutoring

Statistical Education Center

Bayes TheoryThe Statistical Education Center is Duke's primary education resource for the nearly 1800 students who take statistics courses each year. Course and general teaching assistants each hold a minimum of two hours of office hours per week. TA office hours are  typically held in Old Chemistry 203B or in Old Chemistry 025 on West Campus.  During office hours students can drop by to ask questions and get clarification or further exploration of material from their courses. Some course TAs will also hold review sessions prior to exams and will announce their location.

Spring 2020 OFFICE HOURS SCHEDULE 

Students seeking help should plan on attending office hours when a TA assigned to their course is scheduled to be there. Students taking courses with multiple lab/discussion/lecture sections can seek help from any TA for that course.  When TAs are not busy with students from their own courses, they may also be able to help other students in lower level courses. There is also a  general introductory level course TA who will help students in any of the 100 level StatSci courses.

In addition, students who need help in their StatSci courses should speak with their instructors. All instructors for StatSci courses hold a minimum of two hours of office hours per week, typically in their offices; your instructors will inform you of their office hours schedule and location in the course syllabus, Sakai site, or on their websites.  If you are regularly unable to make it to your instructor or TA office hours due to other commitments, you should discuss this matter with your TA and professor who can suggest other resources for you.

Other Resources

Note for veterans of U.S. military service:  Some Duke student veterans may be eligible for private tutoring assistance as discussed on the GI Bill website. ​​​​ For more information, contact the Duke Veterans Education office.

Academic Resource Center: A group tutorial is available for STA 101 and information may be found here.

Private Tutors

The following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Bryan, Jordan PH.D. Undergraduate jordan.bryan@duke.edu
Bu, Fan Ph.D. Undergraduate + 611, 621 fan.bu1@duke.edu
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Coronado, Eduardo MS Undergraduate Courses e.coronado@duke.edu
Guo, Yi Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate yi.guo1@duke.edu
Hu, Sherry UGrad 101, 210, 230 sherry.hu@duke.edu
Lavine, Isaac Ph.D. Undergraduate + Graduate isaac.lavine@duke.edu
Morsomme, Raphaël Ph.D. Undergradate raphael.morsomme@duke.edu
Orlandi, Vittorio Ph.D. Undergraduate + Graduate vittorio.orlandi@duke.edu
Tang, Jiurui Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate jiurui.tang@duke.edu
Thapa, Mishek UGrad 199, 210, 250 thapa.mishek@duke.edu
Wang, Hannah UGrad 199  hannah.j.wang@duke.edu