Course Help & Tutoring

Statistical Education Center

The Statistical Education Center is Duke's primary education resource for the nearly 1000 students who take statistics courses each year. Here teaching assistants for each course hold a minimum of two hours of office hours per week. During office hours students can ask questions on material from their courses. 

FALL 2017 OFFICE HOURS SCHEDULE

Note that some office hours are scheduled in Old Chem 211A and others in Old Chem 025.

Students seeking help should plan on attending office hours when a TA assigned to their course is scheduled to be there. Students taking courses with multiple lab/discussion/lecture sections can seek help from any TA assigned to that course number.

If you are regularly unable to make it to office hours during your TA's office hours due to other commitments, you should discuss this matter with your TA and professor who can suggest other resources for you.

Private Tutoring

The following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Undergraduate Studies

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Akande, Olanrewaju Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate olanrewaju.akande@duke.edu
Amital, Gilad MSS 101, 102, 111, 130, 230 gilad.amital@duke.edu
Berry, Lindsay Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate lindsay.berry@duke.edu
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Cho, Andrew Undergrad 250, 323, 325 and 561 sehyun.cho@duke.edu
Ferrari, Federico Ph.D. 400 or lower except 340 federico.ferrari@duke.edu
Huang, Eden MSEM All 100-level courses huang.huang1@duke.edu
Liang, Li M.S. in Econ 130, 230, 250, 611 li.liang2@duke.edu
Liu, Xichu MSS 230, 250 xichu.liu@duke.edu
Oddiraju, Vinai B.S. 210, 230, 250, 340 vinai.oddiraju@duke.edu
Shen, Angie B.S. 230, 210, 250 ys137@duke.edu
Sheng, Hao MSS Undergraduate below 360 hao.sheng@duke.edu
Song, Hanyu M.S. 101, 111, 130, 210, 230, 250D, 323D, 360, 521, 602L, 663L hs182@stat.duke.edu
van den Boom, Willem Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate willem.van.den.boom@duke.edu
Wang, Luyang MSS Undergraduate below 360 luyang.wang@duke.edu

The following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Graduate Studies

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Akande, Olanrewaju Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate olanrewaju.akande@duke.edu
Berry, Lindsay Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate lindsay.berry@duke.edu
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Ferrari, Federico PhD Undergraduate  federico.ferrari@duke.edu
Song, Hanyu M.S. 101, 111, 130, 210, 230, 250D, 323D, 360, 521, 602L, 663L hs182@stat.duke.edu
van den Boom, Willem Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate willem.van.den.boom@duke.edu