Course Help & Tutoring

Statistical Education Center

The Statistical Education Center is Duke's primary education resource for the nearly 1000 students who take statistics courses each year. A team of faculty and teaching assistants are available for students to ask questions on material from undergraduate and graduate courses taught by the Statistics department. 

Statistical Science TAs hold office hours in the following three locations in Spring 2016. Click on the links below to find out when/where office hours for your course are held.

Private Tutoring

The following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Undergraduate Studies

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Amital, Gilad MSS 101, 102, 111, 130, 230 gilad.amital@duke.edu
Brasco, Jimmy B.S. 210, 230, 250 james.brasco@duke.edu
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate and some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Cho, Andy Undergrad 210, 230, 250, 323 sehyun.cho@duke.edu
Gao, Yuan MSS Undergraduate yg77@duke.edu
Hariharan, Sanjay MSS Undergraduate and some Graduate sanjay.hariharan@duke.edu
Huang, Eden MSEM All 100-level courses huang.huang1@duke.edu
Jiang, Sheng Ph.D. 111, 210, 230, 531, 532, 360/601, 611, 711, 721, 732, 841 sheng.jiang@duke.edu
Johnson, Matt Ph.D. Undergraduate and some Graduate mcj15@stat.duke.edu
Li, Mengrum MSS Undergraduate ml339@stat.duke.edu
Liang, Li M.S. in Econ 130, 230, 250, 611 li.liang2@duke.edu
Liu, Xichu MSS 230, 250 xichu.liu@duke.edu
Luo, Haosheng MSEM 400 or lower except 340; 521, 523, 561, 601, 611, 621, 663 hl201@duke.edu
Robertson, Megan MSS Undergraduate megan.robertson@duke.edu
Shen, Angie B.S. 230, 210, 250 ys137@duke.edu
Sheng, Hao MSS Undergraduate below 360 hao.sheng@duke.edu
Song, Hanyu M.S. 101, 111, 130, 210, 230, 250D, 323D, 360, 521, 602L, 663L hs182@stat.duke.edu
van den Boom, Willem Ph.D. Undergraduate and some Graduate willem.van.den.boom@duke.edu
Wang, Luyang MSS Undergraduate below 360 luyang.wang@duke.edu
Wien, Kasey Undergrad 101, 102, 111, 130, 210, 230 kasey.wien@duke.edu
Wong, Andrew MSS 102, 561, 851 aw236@duke.edu
Yin, Lun (Sam) B.S. 111, 230, 250 lun.yin@duke.edu

The following students might be available for private tutoring. Please contact them directly with your inquiry. Note that this is not a service provided by the Department of Statistical Science. This is only meant to facilitate connecting those looking for a tutor with those interested in providing tutoring services.

Graduate Studies

Name Program Courses Contact Email
Burris, Kyle Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate kyle.burris@duke.edu
Hariharan, Sanjay MSS Undergraduate + some Graduate sanjay.hariharan@duke.edu
Jiang, Sheng Ph.D. 111, 210, 230, 531, 532, 360/601, 611, 711, 721, 732, 841 sheng.jiang@duke.edu
Johnson, Matt Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate mcj15@stat.duke.edu
Luo, Haosheng MSEM 400 or lower except 340; 521, 523, 561, 601, 611, 621, 663 hl201@duke.edu
Song, Hanyu M.S. 101, 111, 130, 210, 230, 250D, 323D, 360, 521, 602L, 663L hs182@stat.duke.edu
van den Boom, Willem Ph.D. Undergraduate + some Graduate willem.van.den.boom@duke.edu
Wong, Andrew MSS 102, 561, 851 aw236@duke.edu